McKnight’s Women of Distinction class of 2023 honors three HumanGood team members

May 22, 2023 – McKnight’s Senior Living honored three HumanGood team members at the 2023 McKnight’s Women of Distinction Forum in Chicago.

Sharell Shippen, director of Spirituality, was recognized in the “Rising Star” award category, which honors women who are either under 40 or have fewer than 15 years of experience in the senior living, skilled nursing, or home care fields. All recipients have demonstrated an exceptional commitment at the community, facility, agency or corporate level.

“Receiving the McKnight Women of Distinction Rising Star award is an absolute honor, said Sharell. “It is the recognition of the time, effort and love that countless women have poured into me, that I know share with others.”

Mary Grace Crisostomo, senior asset manager, Beacon Development Group, was recognized in the “Veteran VIP” category, which honors women who have more than 15 years of experience and have made an impact on the senior living, skilled nursing, or home care fields at a level lower than vice president or its equivalent. Mary Grace was unable to attend the event, but was recognized from the stage.

‘It is truly a great honor to be recognized by McKnight’s in the Veteran VIP Category together with the other awardees,” said Mary Grace.  “I am proud to represent HumanGood and Beacon Development Group as leaders in the Affordable Housing Industry committed to serving and providing seniors with much-needed housing and services.”

Kendra Roberts, vice president of Operations, was chosen as one of six women to receive a Spirit Award. The Spirit Award recognizes inspirational caregiving deeds and other noble gestures by women who have demonstrated acts of bravery, courage, perseverance, dedication or determination — or other noble gestures.

"Spirit for me translates into passion--one of our core values,” said Kendra. “I am passionate about the work we do and the people we serve."

The McKnight’s Women of Distinction awards program was judged by a national, independent panel of judges. The full list of award winners is available at

Media Contact

For media inquiries, please email: